Skip to content

Training and Education

Prepare Your Teams with Leading Cybersecurity Training

The Most Comprehensive Cybersecurity Training on the Market

The International Society of Automation – the world’s leading professional society for industrial automation – offers the most comprehensive set of industrial cybersecurity certificate programming and aligned training courses in the market.

ISA cybersecurity training covers the complete lifecycle of industrial automation and control system (IACS) assessment, design, implementation, operations, and maintenance.

Applicant Qualifications

There are no required prerequisites or applications for this program; however, it is highly recommended that applicants have:

  • Three to five years of experience in the IT cybersecurity field with some experience in an industrial setting-with at least two years specifically in a process control engineering setting

  • Familiarity with ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards is recommended

  • More advanced courses have recommended coursework, in addition to experience, but it is not required. Certificate 1 attainment is required to go onto all other certificate levels.

Learn more about the Cybersecurity Certificates

Cybersecurity Certificate Requirements

ISA Training Certificate Program and Microlearning Modules

Certificate 1: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Fundamentals Specialist

Certificate 2: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Risk Assessment Specialist

Certificate 3: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist

Certificate 4: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Maintenance Specialist

The ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Expert

Cybersecurity Microlearning Modules

ISA is pleased to introduce new training opportunities on the challenges of cybersecurity within the field of industrial automation—microlearning modules, or MLMs. These presentations are short, just 5 to 10 minutes, and will help you understand the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards and how they can be used to implement successful cybersecurity programs. The first module set, IACS Cybersecurity for Chief Information Security Officers (CISOs), is available now on YouTube for free.

Cybersecurity Training

Developed and Taught by Unbiased Industry Experts

secure icon

Using the ISA/IEC 62443 Standards to Secure Your Control Systems (IC32)

This course provides a detailed look at how the ANSI/ISA99 standards can be used to protect your critical control systems. It also explores the procedural and technical differences between the security for traditional IT environments and those solutions appropriate for SCADA or plant floor environments.

Includes exam fee for Certificate 1: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Fundamentals Specialist.


gear icon

Assessing the Cybersecurity of New or Existing IACS Systems (IC33)

This course gives students the tools they need to assess the cybersecurity of new or existing IACS and to develop a cybersecurity requirements specification that can be used to document the cybersecurity requirements of the project.

Includes exam fee for Certificate 2: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Risk Assessment Specialist.


secure servers icon

IACS Cybersecurity Design & Implementation (IC34)

This course will provide students with the information and skills to select and implement cybersecurity countermeasures for a new or existing IACS in order to achieve the target security level assigned to each IACS zone or conduit. Additionally, students will learn how to develop and execute test plans to verify that the cybersecurity of an IACS solution has properly satisfied the objectives in the cybersecurity requirements specification.

Includes exam fee for Certificate 3: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist.


dial icon

IACS Cybersecurity Operations & Maintenance (IC37)

This course focuses on the ongoing operations and maintenance of IACS cybersecurity, which involves activities such as network diagnostics and troubleshooting, security monitoring and incident response, and maintenance of cybersecurity countermeasures.

Includes exam fee for Certificate 4: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Maintenance Specialist.


secure data icon

Overview of ISA/IEC 62443 for Product Suppliers (IC46M)

This on-demand course provides an overview of how the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards can be used by the supplier to implement a security development lifecycle, and to develop IACS systems and components that are secure by design and offer security by default.


contract icon

ISASecure for Product Suppliers (IC47)

This course is intended to train product suppliers in how to design, develop and support IACS products, and assessors in how to certify and assess IACS products and security development lifecycles using the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards.

View IC47 Course
View IC47 Virtual Course

Exclusive for ISAGCA Member Companies

Access ISA Cybersecurity Courses and Certificates at a Discount

As a member of ISAGCA, you can receive volume discounts on our four on-demand, modular training courses with certificate exams.

For details and guidelines, visit the discount program page.

Foundational Documents

Quick Start Guide to ISA/IEC 62443 Download Resource
Guide to Security Lifecycles in ISA/IEC 62443 Download Resource
IACS Taxonomy Glossary Download Resource
IACS Principal Roles and Responsibilities Download Resource

Your Guide to Cybersecurity Standards

Our Quick Start Guide offers a user-friendly overview and answers often-asked questions about the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards.